John Steinbeck

A picture of the author John Steinbeck

John Steinbeck (1902 - 1968) produced twenty-seven books and five short story collections. He won the Pulitzer Prize for The Grapes of Wrath (1939) and the 1962 Nobel Prize for Literature. Steinbeck's writing celebrated the working man during the Great Depression, set primarily in Monterey County, California, where he spent most of his life. Though he is responsible for far too many great works to mention here, the ones read most widely abroad and adapted into iconic films include: Tortilla Flat (1935), Of Mice and Men (1937), The Grapes of Wrath (1939), Cannery Row (1945), The Pearl (1947), and East of Eden (1952). Though his work is not yet in the public domain, American Literature pays tribute to his contribution to great American literature.

facebook share button twitter share button google plus share button tumblr share button reddit share button share by email button share on pinterest pinterest

Anton Chekhov
Nathaniel Hawthorne
Susan Glaspell
Mark Twain
Edgar Allan Poe
Mary E. Wilkins Freeman
Herman Melville
Stephen Leacock
Kate Chopin
Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson