Charlotte M. Yonge

A picture of the author Charlotte M. Yonge

Charlotte Mary Yonge (1823 - 1901) was an English writer whose works helped spread the Oxford Movement, in which High Church members of the Church of England eventually developed into Anglo-Catholicism. She publishing over 160 pieces, primarily novels, beginning in 1848. She also wrote in the genre of children's literature including a collection of historical fables titled, A Collection of Golden Deeds (1864), which includes What Is Better Than Slaying a Dragon and The Last Fight in the Coliseum. Unfortunately, most of her work is no longer in print.

facebook share button twitter share button google plus share button tumblr share button reddit share button share by email button share on pinterest pinterest

Anton Chekhov
Nathaniel Hawthorne
Susan Glaspell
Mark Twain
Edgar Allan Poe
Mary E. Wilkins Freeman
Herman Melville
Stephen Leacock
Kate Chopin
Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson