John Galsworthy

A picture of the author John Galsworthy

John Galsworthy (1865 - 1933) was an English novelist and playwright who earned the 1932 Nobel Prize in Literature. His most recognized works include, The Forsyte Saga (1922) and its sequels, A Modern Comedy and End of the Chapter.

Galsworthy came from a prominent and wealthy family, raised on a large property in Kingston on the Thames, that now hosts three schools. His first published work was in 1897, a collection of short stories titled From the Four Winds. We feature some of Galsworthy's short stories that were popularized in anthologies from the early 20th century, as well as his first series play, The Silver Box: A Comedy in Three Acts.

facebook share button twitter share button google plus share button tumblr share button reddit share button share by email button share on pinterest pinterest

Anton Chekhov
Nathaniel Hawthorne
Susan Glaspell
Mark Twain
Edgar Allan Poe
Mary E. Wilkins Freeman
Herman Melville
Stephen Leacock
Kate Chopin
Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson