Ruth Stiles Gannett

A picture of the author Ruth Stiles Gannett

Ruth Stiles Gannett (born 1923) is an American children's writer best known for her imaginative dragon trilogy. The first title, My Father's Dragon, was published in 1948, and followed by Elmer and the Dragon (1950) and The Dragons of Blueland (1951).

The books were a family affair: her stepmother Ruth Chrisman Gannett illustrated the dragon books, and her husband H. Peter Kahn -- a professional calligrapher -- designed the typography. We imagine that Gannet's seven daughters and eight grandchildren had a special experience reading the "family book."

facebook share button twitter share button google plus share button tumblr share button reddit share button share by email button share on pinterest pinterest

Anton Chekhov
Nathaniel Hawthorne
Susan Glaspell
Mark Twain
Edgar Allan Poe
Mary E. Wilkins Freeman
Herman Melville
Stephen Leacock
Kate Chopin
Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson