Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson

A picture of the author Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson

Bjørnstjerne Martinius Bjørnson (Dec 1832 - April 1910) was a Norwegian poet, novelist, playwright, and lyricist who was awarded the 1903 Nobel Prize in Literature. Along with Henrik Ibsen, Jonas Lie, and Alexander Kielland, Bjørnson is considered one of the De Fire Store or The Four Greats of Norwegian Literature.

Bjørnson, who despite his Nobel Prize is largely unknown to English readers, has been added to the library as part of the budding Scandinavian collection.

facebook share button twitter share button google plus share button tumblr share button reddit share button share by email button share on pinterest pinterest

Anton Chekhov
Nathaniel Hawthorne
Susan Glaspell
Mark Twain
Edgar Allan Poe
Mary E. Wilkins Freeman
Herman Melville
Stephen Leacock
Kate Chopin
Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson