The Chessmen of Mars

The Chessmen of Mars

The Chessmen of Mars (1922) is Burroughs' fifth novel of his Barsoom series.

Table of Contents

Prelude - John Carter Comes to Earth

I - Tara in a Tantrum

II - At the Gale's Mercy

III - The Headless Humans

IV - Captured

V - The Perfect Brain

VI - In the Toils of Horror

VII - A Repellent Sight

VIII - Close Work

IX - Adrift Over Strange Regions

X - Entrapped

XI - The Choice of Tara

XII - Ghek Plays Pranks

XIII - A Desperate Deed

XIV - At Ghek's Command

XV - The Old Man of the Pits

XVI - Another Change of Name

XVII - A Play to the Death

XVIII - A Task for Loyalty

XIX - The Menace of the Dead

XX - The Charge of Cowardice

XXI - A Risk for Love

XXII - At the Moment of Marriage

Martian Chess

Return to the Edgar Rice Burroughs library.

© 2022