The Mill on the Floss

Table of Contents

BOOK 1: Boy and Girl

Outside Dorlcote Mill

Mr. Tulliver, of Dorlcote Mill, Declares His Resolution about Tom

Mr. Riley Gives His Advice Concerning a School for Tom

Tom Is Expected

Tom Comes Home

The Aunts and Uncles Are Coming

Enter the Aunts and Uncles

Mr. Tulliver Shows His Weaker Side

To Garum Firs

Maggie Behaves Worse Than She Expected

Maggie Tries to Run away from Her Shadow

Mr. and Mrs. Glegg at Home

Mr. Tulliver Further Entangles the Skein of Life

BOOK 2: School-Time

Tom's "First Half"

The Christmas Holidays

The New Schoolfellow

"The Young Idea"

Maggie's Second Visit

A Love-Scene

The Golden Gates Are Passed

BOOK 3: The Downfall

What Had Happened at Home

Mrs. Tulliver's Teraphim, or Household Gods

The Family Council

A Vanishing Gleam

Tom Applies His Knife to the Oyster

Tending to Refute the Popular Prejudice against the Present of a Pocket-Knife

How a Hen Takes to Stratagem

Daylight on the Wreck

An Item Added to the Family Register

BOOK 4: The Valley of Humiliation

A Variation of Protestantism Unknown to Bossuet

The Torn Nest Is Pierced by the Thorns

A Voice from the Past

BOOK 5: Wheat and Tares

In the Red Deeps

Aunt Glegg Learns the Breadth of Bob's Thumb

The Wavering Balance

Another Love-Scene

The Cloven Tree

The Hard-Won Triumph

A Day of Reckoning

BOOK 6: The Great Temptation

A Duet in Paradise

First Impressions

Confidential Moments

Brother and Sister

Showing That Tom Had Opened the Oyster

Illustrating the Laws of Attraction

Philip Re-enters

Wakem in a New Light

Charity in Full-Dress

The Spell Seems Broken

In the Lane

A Family Party

Borne Along by the Tide


BOOK 7:The Final Rescue

The Return to the Mill

St. Ogg's Passes Judgment

Showing That Old Acquaintances Are Capable of Surprising Us

Maggie and Lucy

The Last Conflict


Return to the George Eliot library.

© 2022