Eight Cousins

Eight Cousins

Eight Cousins is the story of Rose Campbell, a sickly orphan, who comes to live with her great aunts after she is orphaned. The aunts are the matriarchs of her wealthy Boston family. With the help of her Uncle Alec, who returns from abroad to become her guardian, Rose becomes healthy and happy, finding her place in a rambunctious family with seven boy cousins. The story also highlights an important friendship that Rose develops with her aunt's housemaid Phebe. A friendship that helps Rose to understand and value her own fortunate position in life.

The illustration is the frontispiece from the first edition.

Table of Contents


Chapter 1 - Two Girls

Chapter 2 - The Clan

Chapter 3 - Uncles

Chapter 4 - Aunts

Chapter 5 - A Belt and a Box

Chapter 6 - Uncle Alec's Room

Chapter 7 - A Trip to China

Chapter 8 - And what came of it

Chapter 9 - Phebe's Secret

Chapter 10 - Rose's Sacrifice

Chapter 11 - Poor Mac

Chapter 12 - "The Other Fellows"

Chapter 13 - Cosey Corner

Chapter 14 - A Happy Birthday

Chapter 15 - Ear-Rings

Chapter 16 - Bread and Button-Holes

Chapter 17 - Good Bargains

Chapter 18 - Fashion and Physiology

Chapter 19 - Brother Bones

Chapter 20 - Under The Mistletoe

Chapter 21 - A Scare

Chapter 22 - Something to do

Chapter 23 - Peace-Making

Chapter 24 - Which?

Return to the Louisa May Alcott library.

© 2022 AmericanLiterature.com