Australian Tales

Australian Tales is a post-humous collection of articles and short stories that were gathered together and released by Clarke's widow in 1896.
Table of Contents





Learning "Colonial Experience"

Pretty Dick

Poor Joe

Gentleman George's Bride

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Bullocktown (Glenorchy)

Grumbler's Gully

Romance of Bullocktown

How the Circus Came to Bullocktown

The Romance of Lively Creek

Chapter 1 - "Green Bushes"

Chapter 2 - The Mystery

Chapter 3 - The Sumpitan

King Billy's Troubles

Holiday Peak

"Horace" in the Bush

Squatters Past and Present

The Future Australian Race

Our Ancestors


Our Children

Return to the Marcus Clarke library.

© 2022