Stevenson's Kidnapped was published as a boys' adventure novel in 1886. David Balfour is a 17 year old whose evil uncle has him kidnapped to steal his inheritance. David manages to escapes, but falls in dangerous company in the Scottish Highlands. It seems fitting that Stevenson's novel was Winston Churchill's favorite, which he read while in hiding as an escaped prisoner in Africa (with which he also enjoyed cigars and whiskey) while serving as a young war correspondent. When the coast was clear, Churchill was transported safely back to England to assume a life of politics.

Kidnapped, 1886 cover

Table of Contents

Chapter I. I Set Off Upon My Journey to the House of Shaws

Chapter II. I Come to My Journey's End

Chapter III. I Make Acquaintance of My Uncle

Chapter IV. I Run a Great Danger in the House of Shaws

Chapter V. I Go to the Queen's Ferry

Chapter VI. What Befell at the Queen's Ferry

Chapter VII. I Go to Sea in the Brig "Covenant" of Dysart

Chapter VIII. The Round-House

Chapter IX. The Man with the Belt of Gold

Chapter X. The Siege of the Round-House

Chapter XI. The Captain Knuckles Under

Chapter XII. I Hear of the "Red Fox"

Chapter XIII. The Loss of the Brig

Chapter XIV. The Islet

Chapter XV. The Lad with the Silver Button: Through the Isle of Mull

Chapter XVI. The Lad with the Silver Button: Across Morven

Chapter XVII. The Death of the Red Fox

Chapter XVIII. I Talk with Alan in the Wood of Lettermore

Chapter XIX. The House of Fear

Chapter XX. The Flight in the Heather: The Rocks

Chapter XXI. The Flight in the Heather: The Heugh of Corrynakiegh

Chapter XXII. The Flight in the Heather: The Moor

Chapter XXIII. Cluny's Cage

Chapter XXIV. The Flight in the Heather: The Quarrel

Chapter XXV. In Balquhidder

Chapter XXVI. End of the Flight: We Pass the Forth

Chapter XXVII. I Come to Mr. Rankeillor

Chapter XXVIII. I Go in Quest of My Inheritance

Chapter XXIX. I Come Into My Kingdom

Chapter XXX. Good-Bye

Return to the Robert Louis Stevenson library.

© 2022