The Valley of Fear

The Valley of Fear

Serialised from September 1914 to May 1915 in the Strand Magazine, The Valley of Fear, is the fourth and final Sherlock Holmes novel by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This installment is base on the real life exploits of the Molly Maguires and Pinkerton agent James McParland. It was published as a book in February 1915, in New York.

Table of Contents

PART 1—The Tragedy of Birlstone

Chapter 1—The Warning

Chapter 2—Sherlock Holmes Discourses

Chapter 3—The Tragedy of Birlstone

Chapter 4—Darkness

Chapter 5—The People of the Drama

Chapter 6—A Dawning Light

Chapter 7—The Solution

PART 2—The Scowrers

Chapter 1—The Man

Chapter 2—The Bodymaster

Chapter 3—Lodge 341, Vermissa

Chapter 4—The Valley of Fear

Chapter 5—The Darkest Hour

Chapter 6—Danger

Chapter 7—The Trapping of Birdy Edwards


Return to the Sir Arthur Conan Doyle library.

© 2022