Virginia Woolf

A picture of the author Virginia Woolf

Adeline Virginia Stephen was born in the Kensington district of London in 1882. She is better known to the world as Virginia Woolf, considered one of the great modernist English authors of the twentieth century. Her best-regarded novels include Mrs. Dalloway (1925), To the Lighthouse (1927), Orlando (1928), and her extended essay, A Room of One's Own (1929). We offer Woolf's short story collection, Monday or Tuesday (1921) featuring its namesake Monday or Tuesday, A Haunted House, A Society, The String Quartet, An Unwritten Novel, Blue & Green, Kew Gardens, and The Mark on the Wall.

Virginia Woolf: A Room of One's OwnWoolf was a member of The Bloomsbury Group, influential English literary artists who expressed modern attitudes toward pacifism, sexuality and feminism during the first half of the 20th century. Other members included John Maynard Keynes, E. M. Forster, and Lytton Strachey. Her provocative essay, A Room of One's Own is widely regarded as among the top ten most Influential Feminist Books. Woolf advised modernist writers to write what they feel, rather than concern themselves with the expectations of publishers or society. Widely known as suffering from mental illness throughout her life, Woolf most likely had bi-polar disorder, but the illness was not well understood or treatable at the time. She committed suicide at age 59 on March 28, 1941.

For more background on the genre, we encourage you to read our Modern Feminist Literature Study Guide.

facebook share button twitter share button google plus share button tumblr share button reddit share button share by email button share on pinterest pinterest

Anton Chekhov
Nathaniel Hawthorne
Susan Glaspell
Mark Twain
Edgar Allan Poe
Mary E. Wilkins Freeman
Herman Melville
Stephen Leacock
Kate Chopin
Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson