Dombey and Son

Table of Contents



1. Dombey and Son

2. In which Timely Provision is made for an Emergency that will sometimes arise in the best-regulated Families

3. In which Mr Dombey, as a Man and a Father, is seen at the Head of the Home-Department

4. In which some more First Appearances are made on the Stage of these Adventures

5. Paul's Progress and Christening

6. Paul's Second Deprivation

7. A Bird's-eye Glimpse of Miss Tox's Dwelling-place; also of the State of Miss Tox's Affections

8. Paul's further Progress, Growth, and Character

9. In which the Wooden Midshipman gets into Trouble

10. Containing the Sequel of the Midshipman's Disaster

11. Paul's Introduction to a New Scene

12. Paul's Education

13. Shipping Intelligence and Office Business

14. Paul grows more and more Old-fashioned, and goes Home for the holidays

15. Amazing Artfulness of Captain Cuttle, and a new Pursuit for Walter Gay

16. What the Waves were always saying

17. Captain Cuttle does a little Business for the Young people

18. Father and Daughter

19. Walter goes away

20. Mr Dombey goes upon a journey

21. New Faces

22. A Trifle of Management by Mr Carker the Manager

23. Florence solitary, and the Midshipman mysterious

24. The Study of a Loving Heart

25. Strange News of Uncle Sol

26. Shadows of the Past and Future

27. Deeper shadows

28. Alterations

29. The Opening of the Eyes of Mrs Chick

30. The Interval before the Marriage

31. The Wedding

32. The Wooden Midshipman goes to Pieces

33. Contrasts

34. Another Mother and Daughter

35. The Happy Pair

36. Housewarming

37. More Warnings than One

38. Miss Tox improves an Old Acquaintance

39. Further Adventures of Captain Edward Cuttle, Mariner

40. Domestic Relations

41. New Voices in the Waves

42. Confidential and Accidental

43. The Watches of the Night

44. A Separation

45. The Trusty Agent

46. Recognizant and Reflective

47. The Thunderbolt

48. The Flight of Florence

49. The Midshipman makes a Discovery

50. Mr Toots's Complaint

51. Mr Dombey and the World

52. Secret Intelligence

53. More Intelligence

54. The Fugitives

55. Rob the Grinder loses his Place

56. Several People delighted, and the Game Chicken disgusted

57. Another Wedding

58. After a Lapse

59. Retribution

60. Chiefly Matrimonial

61. Relenting

62. Final

Return to the Charles Dickens library.

© 2022