The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden

Brunett created an inspirational tale of transformation and empowerment. Mary Lennox, a sickly and contrary little girl, is orphaned to dim prospects in a gloomy English manor - her only friend is a bed-ridden boy named Colin whose prospects may be dimmer than hers. But when Mary finds the key to a Secret Garden, the magical powers of transformation fall within her reach.

The Secret Garden

Featured in our collection of Books for Young Readers and 25 Great American Novels.

Table of Contents

Chapter I. There is No One Left

Chapter II. Mistress Mary Quite Contrary

Chapter III. Across the Moor

Chapter IV. Martha

Chapter V. The Cry in the Corridor

Chapter VI. "There was Some One Crying--There was!"

Chapter VII. The Key to the Garden

Chapter VIII. The Robin who Showed the Way

Chapter IX. The Strangest House any one Ever Lived In

Chapter X. Dickon

Chapter XI. The Nest of the Missel Thrush

Chapter XII. "Might I Have a Bit of Earth?"

Chapter XIII. "I Am Colin"

Chapter XIV. A Young Rajah

Chapter XV. Nest Building

Chapter XVI. "I Won't!" said Mary

Chapter XVII. A Tantrum

Chapter XVIII. "Tha' Munnot Waste no Time"

Chapter XIX. "It has Come!"

Chapter XX. "I Shall Live Forever--and Ever--And Ever!"

Chapter XXI. Ben Weatherstaff

Chapter XXII. When the Sun Went Down

Chapter XXIII. Magic

Chapter XXIV. "Let Them Laugh"

Chapter XXV. The Curtain

Chapter XXVI. "It's Mother!"

Chapter XXVII. In the Garden

Return to the Frances Hodgson Burnett library.

© 2022