A picture for the book Queen Victoria

Queen Victoria

Lytton Strachey developed a new form of biography which provided insights and sympathy for his subjects. Queen Victoria (1921) and Eminent Victorians (1918) explified this new approach to give readers a more intimate perspective.

Chapter I. Antecedents

Chapter II. Childhood

Chapter III. Lord Melbourne

Chapter IV. Marriage

Chapter V. Lord Palmerston

Chapter VI. Last Years of Prince Consort

Chapter VII. Widowhood

Chapter VIII. Gladstone and Lord Beaconsfield

Chapter XI. Old Age

Chapter X. The End

Bibliography and List of References

Return to the Lytton Strachey library.