The House of Seven Gables

The House of Seven Gables

Fraudulent dealings, accusations of witchcraft and sudden death. Nathaniel Hawthorne's novel, House of Seven Gables serves them all up with style. Hawthorne explores guilt, retribution and atonement as the Pyncheon family faces life in their gloomy, seven gabled, New England mansion. Nathaniel Hawthorne's The House of Seven Gables treads on familiar but masterful ground, examining the consequences of sin.

This book is featured in our collection of 25 Great American Novels. The accompanying photo is The House of Seven Gables in 1915, Salem, Massachusetts.

Table of Contents

Intro and Preface

The Old Pyncheon Family

The Little Shop-Window

The First Customer

A Day Behind the Counter

May and November

Maule's Well

The Guest

The Pyncheon of To-day

Clifford and Phoebe

The Pyncheon Garden

The Arched Window

The Daguerreotypist

Alice Pyncheon

Phoebe's Good-By

The Scowl and Smile

Clifford's Chamber

The Flight of Two Owls

Governor Pyncheon

Alice's Posies

The Flower of Eden

The Departure

Return to the Nathaniel Hawthorne library.

© 2022