The Troll Garden

The Troll Garden

The Troll Garden (1905) was Cather's first collection of short stories, many of which were published singly in various literary magazines, including Scribner's. We feature A Wagner's Matinee and The Garden Lodge separately in our collection.

"We must not look at Goblin men,
We must not buy their fruits;
Who knows upon what soil they fed
Their hungry thirsty roots?"


Table of Contents

Flavia and Her Artists

The Sculptor's Funeral

The Garden Lodge

A Death in the Desert

The Marriage of Phaedra

A Wagner Matinee

Paul's Case: A Study in Temperament

Return to the Willa Cather library.

© 2022