The Age of Innocence

The Age of Innocence

Born into a life of wealth and privilege, Edith Wharton was part of the small clique of aristocratic families that held sway over New York City's social and cultural life at the turn of the nineteenth century. In The Age of Innocence, Wharton looks back fondly on the life that was enjoyed by the privileged class of the East Coast before the many changes wrought by World War I. The Age of Innocence (1920) was her 12th novel, and it earned Edit Wharton the 1921 Pulitzer prize.

The Age of Innocence is striking for its accurate and detailed description of upper-class life in New York City in the 1870s. The author -- who was a member of this society -- takes care to describe the carefully orchestrated customs and mores of that set the boundaries around and dictated the daily rituals of New York City's "leading families."

As a member of the high-society which she criticized in The House of Mirth, Edith Wharton was witnessing dramatic changes to that world, which was changed dramatically by the end of World War I. The tension between the 'old way' and encroaching 'new way' is drawn out in the character sketches of the leading characters. New Archer, the elgible bachelor, is betrothed to May Welland who is a product of the old traditions and ways. But he finds himself increasing drawn to the exotic Countess Ellen Olenska who has a more modern approach to the world and is willing to flaunt the old traditions.

The novel is featured in Pulitzer Prize Fiction. It has been adapted into a film of the same name, The Age of Innocence.

Table of Contents

Chapter I

Chapter II

Chapter III

Chapter IV

Chapter V

Chapter VI

Chapter VII

Chapter VIII

Chapter IX

Chapter X

Chapter XI

Chapter XII

Chapter XIII

Chapter XIV

Chapter XV

Chapter XVI

Chapter XVII

Chapter XVIII

Chapter XIX

Chapter XX

Chapter XXI

Chapter XXII

Chapter XXIII

Chapter XXIV

Chapter XXV

Chapter XXVI

Chapter XXVII

Chapter XXVIII

Chapter XXIX

Chapter XXX

Chapter XXXI

Chapter XXXII

Chapter XXXIII

Chapter XXXIV

Return to the Edith Wharton library.

© 2022