The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

L. Frank Baum's famous children's novel The Wonderful Wizard of Oz was first published on May 17, 1900. Today it is more commonly known under the shortened title, The Wizard of Oz. The musical premiered in New York City on January 21, 1903.

A picture of the Cowardly Lion from the book The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

Featured in our collection of Books for Young Readers and 25 Great American Novels.

Table of Contents


Chapter 1. The Cyclone

Chapter 2. The Council with the Munchkins

Chapter 3. How Dorothy Saved the Scarecrow

Chapter 4. The Road Through the Forest

Chapter 5. The Rescue of the Tin Woodman

Chapter 6. The Cowardly Lion

Chapter 7. The Journey to the Great Oz

Chapter 8. The Deadly Poppy Field

Chapter 9. The Queen of the Field Mice

Chapter 10. The Guardian of the Gate

Chapter 11. The Wonderful City of Oz

Chapter 12. The Search for the Wicked Witch

Chapter 13. The Rescue

Chapter 14. The Winged Monkeys

Chapter 15. The Discovery of Oz, the Terrible

Chapter 16. The Magic Art of the Great Humbug

Chapter 17. How the Balloon Was Launched

Chapter 18. Away to the South

Chapter 19. Attacked by the Fighting Trees

Chapter 20. The Dainty China Country

Chapter 21. The Lion Becomes the King of Beasts

Chapter 22. The Country of the Quadlings

Chapter 23. Glinda The Good Witch Grants Dorothy's Wish

Chapter 24. Home Again

Return to the L. Frank Baum library.

© 2022